A musical keyboard is the set of adjacent depressible levers or keys on a musical instrument, particularly the piano. Keyboards typically contain keys for playing the twelve notes of the Western musical scale, with a combination of larger, longer keys and smaller, shorter keys that repeats at the interval of an octave. Depressing a key on the keyboard causes the instrument to produce sounds, either by mechanically striking a string or tine (piano, electric piano, clavichord); plucking a string (harpsichord); causing air to flow through a pipe (organ); or strike a bell (carillon). On electric and electronic keyboards, depressing a key connects a circuit (Hammond organ, digital piano, synthesizer). Since the most commonly encountered keyboard instrument is the piano, the keyboard layout is often referred to as the "piano keyboard".

The keyboard is made up of white keys with repeating patterns of black keys in groups of two and three. We use seven letters of the alphabet to make music; A,B,C,D,E,F, and G. After G, we start over again with A. Look at the group of two black keys. C will always be to the left of the two blackkeys. E will always be to the right of the two black keys. And D is right in the middle of the two black keys. Now look at the group of three black keys. F will always be to the left of the three black keys. B will always be to the right of the three black keys. Each key on the keyboard has a particular tone or pitch, and a certain place on the music staff. You will learn how each tone relates to a line or space, and you will be able to find it on the keyboard and combine the notes to make beautiful music.